The Static tab settings define how static analysis is performed. During a test, SOAtest will perform static analysis based on the parameters defined in the Test Configuration used for that test. 

Basic Settings

Enable the Enable Static Analysis to configure SOAtest to run static analysis when the test configuration is executed. Static analysis checks the code against the rules activated in the Rules Tree.

  • Limit maximum number of tasks reported per rule to: Determines whether SOAtest limits the number of violations (tasks) reported for each rule, and—if so—the maximum number of violations per rule that should be reported during a single test. For instance, if you want to see no more than five violations of each rule, set this parameter to 5. The default setting is 1,000.
  • Skip automatically greeted test classes: Enable this option to skip test classes that have been generated automatically. 
  • Do not apply suppressions: Determines whether SOAtest applies the specified suppressions. If suppressions are not applied, SOAtest will report all violations found.

Rules Tree

Determines which rules are checked during static analysis. Use the rules tree and related controls to indicate which rules and rule categories you want checked during static analysis.

  • To view a description of a rule, right-click the node that represents that rule, then choose View Rule Documentation from the shortcut menu.
  • To view a description of a rule category, right-click the node that represents that rule category, then choose View Category Documentation from the shortcut menu.
  • To enable or disable all rules in a specific rule category or certain types of rules within a specific rule category, right-click the category node, then choose Enable Rules>[desired option] or Disable Rules> [desired option].

  • To search for a rule, click the Find button, then use that dialog to search for the rule.
  • To hide the rules that are not enabled, click the Hide Disabled button. If you later want all rules displayed, click Show All.


  • The number next to each rule ID indicates the rule’s severity level. The severity level indicates the chance that a violation of the rule will cause a serious construction defect (a coding construct that causes application problems such as slow performance, security vulnerabilities, and so on). Possible severity levels (listed from most severe to least severe) are:
    • Highest - Level 1
    • High  - Level 2
    • Medium  - Level 3
    • Low  - Level 4
    • Lowest  - Level 5
  • To learn about the rules that are included with SOAtest, choose Help> Help Contents, then open the SOAtest Static Analysis Rules book, then browse the available rule description files.
  • To generate a printable list of all rules that a given Test Configuration is configured to check:
    1. Open the Test Configurations panel by choosing Parasoft> Test Configurations.
    2. Select the Test Configurations category that represents the user-defined Test Configuration you want to modify.
    3. Open the Static tab.
    4. Click the PrintableDocs button.
  • No labels