Page tree

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

To ensure that other users with provisioning permissions cannot modify your setup, you can lock:

  • A specific artifact (e.g., a virtual asset, virtual asset deployment, JDBC controller, message proxy, test scenario, file, or provisioning action)
  • A component—including all associated artifacts
  • A complete environment—including all associated components and all artifacts used in those components

Any user with provisioning permissions (e.g., a provision, system, or admin-level user) can add locks and unlock any lock that he or she locked.

Admin-level users can also unlock any lock (no matter which user applied the lock). However, they cannot modify resources that other users locked. If they wanted to modify a locked resource, they would need to unlock it first, then modify it.

Understanding Lock Icons

Lock icons are shown if:

  • An entire component was locked in CTP,
  • A locked asset will interfere with provisioning, or
  • You have direct control over the lock (e.g., you are able to unlock it)

If an entire component is locked, a lock icon is shown at the component level. A tool tip indicates who added the lock. 

If a component instance cannot be provisioned due to a locked asset (e.g., another user locked the entire component or locked a virtual asset deployment used in the selected component instance), a lock icon will be added that instance's label. A tool tip indicates who added the lock and what asset is locked.

If a lock will not interfere with provisioning (for instance, a .pva is locked), the associated instance will not show a lock to any users.   

Locking/Unlocking a Component

Locking

To lock a component—as well as lock all artifacts that used in that component and all of that component's instances:

  • With the environment diagram in regular (not Edit) mode, select the component, then click the  Lock in the toolbar.


What if included artifacts are already locked?

If the component includes already-locked artifacts, CTP will display a warning dialog describing the conflicts. 


In this case, your options are:

  • Unlock what you just locked by clicking Undo. You can then ask the users (or an admin) to remove those locks, then try again to lock the component.
  • Immediately ask the users (or an admin) to remove those locks, then click Retry.
  • Continue with only selected artifacts locks by clicking Proceed.
  • Once locks are set, a lock icon will then be shown above the component, and all virtual assets, JDBC controllers, message proxies, data repositories, test scenarios, or provisioning actions used in that component will be locked. 

Unlocking

To unlock a component that you previously locked—as well as unlock the associated artifacts and component instances that you previously locked:

  • With the environment diagram in regular (not Edit) mode, select the component, then click the Unlock in the toolbar.
     


Locking/unlocking in Edit mode

You can also lock and unlock specific components in Edit mode:


Locking an Environment

Locking

To lock all environment components and all artifacts used in those components:

Unlocking

To unlock all environment components and all the associated artifacts that you previously locked:

  • With the environment diagram in regular (not Edit) mode, click Unlock All in the toolbar.


Locking/unlocking in Edit mode

You can also lock and unlock specific entire environments in Edit mode:

Locking a Specific Artifact

There are a number of ways to lock or unlock specific artifacts:

  • Any artifact available in the Virtualize Server page can be locked and unlocked in that page.
     
     
  • Virtual assets and related files can also be locked and unlocked in the Virtual Assets page using the Lock Virtual Asset (or Unlock Virtual Asset) action menu.
     
     
  • Test scenarios and related files can also be locked and unlocked in the Test Scenarios page using the Lock Test Scenario (or Unlock Test Scenario) action menu.
     
  • JDBC controllers, message proxies, and provisioning actions can also be locked and unlocked in their respective page).
     
     

You can also view a list of artifacts that you have locked—as well as unlock them—from the user profile page (choose User Profile from the login menu on the top right).

Getting Lock Status Updates from Virtualize Server

After a user locks or unlocks Virtualize server artifacts using Virtualize desktop, that Virtualize server needs to be refreshed in CTP in order for CTP to show those lock changes.


  • No labels