In this section:
License reservations (regardless of type) are an allocation of license tokens to a designated party. These reserved tokens are inaccessible for any other party once reserved, even if those tokens are not being used. These reservations are managed under the Reservations section of the License Details page for all licenses. Reserved tokens are used in the same manner as unreserved tokens, so the sole difference between the two is in who is able to access them.
Tools with named-user licenses allow for tokens to be reserved for specific users. When a user matches the user pattern specified in the reservation, they will be able to access the reserved token. Named-User licenses bind license tokens to users in the order in which they are requested until they are exhausted, after which new users will not be able to obtain license tokens. If a token is successfully acquired from a license without a reservation, then a reservation will automatically be created for the user that acquired the token.
To reserve a named-user license:
Named User.

You can remove reservations by clicking the associated minus icon located in the leftmost column of the Reservations table.
Please note that there is a limit to the frequency at which user licenses can be reassigned. Review your license agreement for applicability and specific details regarding the limit on user license reassignment. |
Tools with concurrent licenses allow for reserving any number of tokens, as supported by the license, for either user/host patterns or groups. When a user matches the pattern specified in the reservation, they will be able to access the reserved token. Concurrent licenses bind license tokens to users in the order in which they are requested until they are exhausted, after which new users will not be able to obtain license tokens.
To reserve a concurrent license:
Concurrent.


You can prevent specific users or user groups from reserving tokens, even if they match the user/host pattern or are part of the group used to reserve the concurrent license, by setting up a filter that specifically denies them access. A filter that denies access takes precedence over a competing filter that allows access. See Filtering License Access for details.
You can remove reservations at any time by clicking the associated minus icon located in the leftmost column of the Reservations table.
A tool with a machine-locked license allocates tokens to specific machines, as identified by machine ID, on a 1-to-1 basis. Machine-locked licenses bind the license token to a machine ID for 30 days and during this 30-day reservation period no other machines may access the token. If a token is successfully acquired from a license without a reservation, then a reservation will automatically be created for the machine that acquired the token.
To reserve a machine locked license:
Machine Locked.

Machine-locked reservations can be released if it has been more than 30 days since they were reserved, as described above. If the 30-day period is still active, you will still see the Release Token button, but it will not be available until after the release date, which will be shown right below it. The reservation cannot be removed before this release date.
Reservations for upgrade licenses are inherited from the base license.
If you have reservations defined in an existing license and obtain a new license, you might want to carry those reservations forward. This can be done by exporting the reservations from the existing license then importing them into the new license using the Import Reservations and Export Reservations links in Reservations section of the license.

Exported reservations are saved in a .json file. The same file can be used to import the reservations.