Page tree

Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.
Comment: Published by Scroll Versions from space DTPDEVEL and version 2020.2

In this section:

Table of Contents
maxLevel1

Introduction

A permission group is a set of permissions that enable members to perform actions or access specific reports or data. Some built-in group permissions contain specific user roles (see Built-in User Groups). You should assign users to a default group prior to assigning them to project-related groups because default groups indicate users' roles.

Permission Groups Interface

Click on a group name in the User Administration home screen to access the permission groups interface. DTP ships with default groups that cannot be modified. Links to the built-in groups are disabled.

The group name will appear in the page header. 

You can click on the following tabs:

  • GeneralProvides an overview of the permissions and members configured for the group.
  • Permissions & Hierarchy: Provides an interface for setting which permissions members can have for each module in your Parasoft infrastructure (e.g., grs, pstsec, etc.).

  • Users: Provides an interface for manually adding users to the group. Users can also be programmatically added by syncing with your LDAP system (see Automatic Synchronization).

Creating a Group

  1. Click Add Group and provide a name for the group when prompted. Descriptions are optional. You will be redirected to the users and groups configuration page.
  2. Click the Permissions & Hierarchy tab and configure permissions for the group, including group hierarchy. See Configuring Group Permissions and Configuring Group Hierarchy

  3. Click the Users tab to manually add currently stored users to the group.  

  4. Click Save to finish configuring the group.

Editing Groups

Click on the name of group from the User Administration main screen to open the group configuration page and make changes to the permissions, hierarchy, or membership. Refer to the following sections for details:

Configuring Group Permissions

See User Administration Overview to learn about particular permissions.

  1. Open a permission group’s detail page; see Editing Groups.
  2. Click the Permissions & Hierarchy tab.
  3. Choose a functionality from the Tool drop-down list.
  4. Choose a permission setting from the Name drop-down list that describes the range of permissions to grant. 

  5. Choose a status from the Value drop-down menu to specify the type of permission. Some tools take a Boolean value to grant or deny access to the tool. Choose true to enable access or false deny access to the tool. 

  6. Click Add to include access to the functionality in the group. You can also click the remove button (x) to remove access to the functionality.  

  7. Repeat as necessary and click Save to finish configuring the group.

Configuring Group Hierarchy

You can organize groups hierarchically so that groups with static privileges and groups with commonly modified privileges can be separated. A group may have individual privileges and permissions or might inherit them from an ancestor. (for example, privileges indicating Report Center reports availability) (for example, privileges indicating Report Center project availability)

  1. Open a permission group’s detail page; see Editing Groups.
  2. Click the Permissions & Hierarchy tab.
  3. By default, new groups are added as parent nodes. Click the add button (+) in the groups tree to add the node as a parent to the group. You can also click the remove button (x) to remove the parent node.

  4. Choose the permissions to inherit from the parent group.

  5. Click Save to finish organizing.

Manually Adding Group Members

  1. Click on the Users tab and enter the user name you want to add in the Login field.
  2. Click the add button (plus) in the search results and click Save.

Automatic Synchronization

You can set groups that have been created manually to automatically synchronize with an equivalent LDAP group if the Use Member Attribute option is enabled (see Configuring LDAP). The following will occur automatic synchronization:

  • Periodically update the list of users assigned to this group based on the members of the equivalent LDAP group.
  • Automatically create users if they do not already exist.
  • Immediately synchronize groups after changes are saved if the group is new or if automatic synchronization was disabled.

If DTP is configured to use multiple LDAP servers, group synchronization will be based on the first matching LDAP group available.